🌎

Issue #9 - School

Hello! I tend to write these blog posts whenever I'm feeling a bit down, bored, or lost. I read another person's blog one time where they discussed how boring moments are actually more important to capture than "exciting" ones, for two reasons: firstly, it alleviates the boredom. Secondly, in retrospect, it is usually not as boring as you think. Magnification comes with a loss of perspective.

Well, here I am! I've since begun my teaching job once again. I'm not even speaking English that much, which is funny. My role is more just like being an ordinary teacher, (but, one who is a little dumb, and can't speak the language very well). Some kids don't even know that I'm not from here. I did reach a new milestone in my language acquistion - a native speaker thought that I was also a native speaker! The caveat is that said native speaker was... 7 years old? 8 or maybe 9? Either way, exciting for me...

It's interesting to think that this is going to be my life for the next year, at least. I figure my foreign language abilities will become much greater in the coming 11 months. Atleast, that is my intent, and I plan to practice. It's odd to study a language. I know people who've studied languages for years and are technically proficient but still can't find anything interesting to say.

I'm feeling like I'm flailing around a bit and feeling lost. I don't really know what to do. The Old Me is a constant haunting ghost. That's not a real person anymore, and at that time, that guy had another ghost on his shoulder. So I don't really know what to do. I'm always just looking around trying to see beauty in everything, but I am climbing a slick mountain. I keep slipping back into miniature depressions, yet keep fighting my way out of them, and creating beautiful things along the way.