🌎

Issue #6 - Further Reflections

Yes, some further reflections. I'm immediately facing some type of writer's block, where I feel somehow embarrassed to go any further, although my mind is bursting with ideas. So, as a compromise with myself, I'll add this preliminary paragraph to say to any reader (including my future self), it is not so serious!. Write to think, think to write. Right.

Yes, some further reflections. I'm thinking a lot about my place in the world, the types of work that I should do, and my relationships at varying levels (interpersonal, sociological, psychological, familial, etc.). Clearly, some variables are fixed: I was born with a certain set of genes, in a certain age, into a certain culture / country. I've already conducted experiments in changing my genes, (or, at least attempting to achieve the maximum of my God-given "pre-sets,"), and I have nearly successfully changed my culture. I mean, I moved a lot within my country at a young age, and now I am living successfully, independently in a new continent. Obviously, not entirely independent, as no one is ever entirely independent, and I am not entirely immersed, but I am making headway and proving things to myself that I previously only hypothesized.

The final mode of experimentation, then, is experimentation in the societal level. In small modes, I've already seen how I can change people. I have made mistakes, I have been misguided, or even consciously evil. Of course, with greater reflection, I note what I have done and move forward changed, and better. (note: every single person has done this. I am not special for noting this; if you were at all surprised by that sentence, analyze your own life, and see where you have wronged). Things are different with great leverage.

I recall Sam Altman of Y-Combinator speaking about how there are far fewer 22 year old entrepreneurs as compared to years past. He wondered what happened. How funny. Answer: Y-Combinator happened. Still, I felt that a fire to become greater, quicker, as to be in a special position at age 21. I'm almost 20 now.

So then, my question becomes something like: when should I recharge and reflection, when should I commit to action? Now that my living conditions are calm, I feel naturally drawn toward quiet training and recalibration rather than committing. I also feel that "real artists ship", and that I should just be attempting everything. I notice that when I control the paradigm, things become beautiful, although they take time. I notice that when I don't control the paradigm, and instead I am forced through an institution, I outpace everyone, receive accolades, and money. I think I have enough money, and I think I've just found my answer in the course of writing this. I should just calm down.

This always happens to me, haha. Anyways. Life is a marathon, we have just begun.