🌎

Issue #3 - Airborne

My strategy for titling these is never important. I just name it whatever first comes to mind, usually the conscious associations come after, not before.

I think of two things.

  1. I am happy to be outside of the purgatory of airport land. I am not in any airplanes anymore, and I am breathing normal air. I am sitting and typing this inside of my girlfriend´s bedroom (notice that weird apostrophe and how I said ¨I am¨ so much, instead of ¨I´m¨? I´m using her Spanish keyboard. It´s pretty fun. The layout isn´t wildly different, but some of the grammatical things are slowing my down. Maybe I´ll experiment with another layout someday).

  2. I finished reading Marshal McLuhan´s Understanding Media. By airborne, I reference his idea that media is an extension of man, and that the medium of mass, instantaneous communication is an extension of the human nervous system. He ends the book with one of my favorite quotes of all time:

¨... in the same way, the social and educational patterns latent in automation are those of self-employement and artistic autonomy.¨

That sounds a lot like something I´d say. It is not narcissistic to say that one of the greatest pleasures of reading is that it gives voice, affirmation, and clarity to previously held thought.

In the same way, as the book was published in 1964, and as the internet and personal computing revolution was not yet began, I must slough the skin of individuality. A genius had his realization in 1964. I have done nothing but react to my situation. In the book, he also writes about how artists are often seen as the oracles or fortune-bearers of coming times, not as evidence of their connection with God, but rather as a result of their ability to clearly see the present moment.

Again, with that, I must live presently. If I wish for thoughts or creations of mine to outlive me, I must not deface myself with mystic thoughts or attempt to stand outside of time. By living presently, this occurs as a mere by-product.

Ordinarily, I´d just leave the thought there and attempt to integrate it into my life. But, occasionally, I have some problems with it. I suppose what that really looks like is a continual affirmation of the future I wish to create. With that, I wish to continue creating my art, programming, designing websites, and being present (especially with my girlfriend, family, and friends). It is not disrespectful to the possible existence of realms beyond my own to admit that the most important, and productive type of work to do is that which I am sure exists.

Thank you for reading!