🌎

Issue #10 - Home

Home! Yesterday, I finished my second notebook of daily pages. I'm happy about that - I predict my long term success will be quite intimately tied to my ability to do a few things relentlessly. So, I'm writing this blogpost here today because I haven't gotten around to purchasing another notebook, although I still think writing in the morning is a valuable practice. Likely, this will serve a different purpose - the romanticism of slowly using pen and paper is gone, and now I'm vaguely aware that someone could be reading this. My rule for my morning pages is that I should never self-censor, and that I should not stop writing. Definitely I struggle with both of those rules. I often find myself staring out the window, unaware that I even stopped writing. But nonetheless.

The other major difference is the rate of production: I can type much, much quicker than I am able to handwrite. With that being said, this text more closely resembles my speaking patterns. I tend to speak more aphoristically, metaphorically, or utilize poetic language when I'm hand-writing, as I usually have a longer time to think about each sentence. Of course, this is self-imposed, too. If I wanted, I could just pause in-between each typed sentence, but it occurs much naturally when it... well, occurs naturally.